Wilson, Angus

Taught at the UEA : 1963 - 1978


Angus Wilson co-founded (with Malcom Bradbury) the UEA Creative Writing MA in 1970, the first course of its kind in the UK. A critic, novelist and short story writer, he taught widely in the United States before joining UEA in 1963. He became a Professor of English Literature in 1966, and retired in 1978. His first publication was a collection of short stories, The Wrong Set (1949). His first novel Hemlock and After (1952) was followed by six others, including Anglo Saxon Attitudes (1956) and Late Call (1964). He also published numerous non-fiction titles and was Chair of the Arts Council’s Literature Panel and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. He was knighted for services to literature in 1980, and died in 1991, aged 77.


  • The Wrong Set (1949)
  • Hemlock and After (1952)
  • Anglo-Saxon Attitudes (1956)
  • The Middle Age of Mrs Eliot (1958)
  • The Old Men at the Zoo (1961)
  • Late Call (1964)
  • No Laughing Matter (1967)
  • As if by Magic (1973)
  • Setting the World on Fire (1980)