Motion, Andrew

Taught at the UEA : 1995 - 2002


Andrew Motion succeeded Malcolm Bradbury as Professor of Creative Writing in 1995 and was co-Director (with Paul Magrs) of the MA in Creative Writing until 2002, during which time he was appointed Poet Laureate, succeeding Ted Hughes.  His poetry collections include Dangerous Play: Poems 1974-1984 (1984), which won the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize, and Natural Causes (1987), which won the Dylan Thomas Award.  He is the author of several acclaimed literary biographies, including The Lamberts: George, Constant and Kit (1986), which won a Somerset Maugham Award, and Philip Larkin: A Writer’s Life (1993), which won the Whitbread Biography Award.  He has also published two novels and a memoir, In The Blood (2006).  He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and a Professor of Creative Writing at Royal Holloway University.


  • Dangerous Play: Poems 1974-1984 (1984)
  • Natural Causes (1987)
  • The Lamberts: George, Constant and Kit (1986)
  • Philip Larkin: A Writer’s Life (1993)
  • The Blood (2006)