Bradbury, Malcolm

Taught at the UEA : 1970 - 1995


Malcolm Bradbury co-founded (with Angus Wilson) the UEA Creative Writing MA in 1970, the first course of its kind in the UK, and was its Director until his retirement in 1995. A Professor of American Studies, he was a prolific and influential literary scholar, publishing over forty books of non-fiction and criticism. In addition he wrote numerous screenplays for television, a large body of reviews and articles, and published seven novels, including The History Man (1975), which was serialised for BBC television, and Rates Of Exchange (1983), which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize. He was awarded a CBE in 1991 for services to literature, and knighted in 2000. He died in 2000, aged 68.


  • Eating People is Wrong (1959)
  • Stepping Westward (1965)
  • The History Man (1975)
  • Who Do You Think You Are? (1976)
  • Rates of Exchange (1983)
  • Cuts (1987)
  • Doctor Criminale (1992)
  • To The Hermitage (2000)
  • Liar’s Landscape (2006)
  • A complete list of Malcolm Bradbury’s creative and critical writing, including edited anthologies and work for television & film, can be found on the Malcolm Bradbury website: